I’ll be me, you be you

“To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment.” 
― Ralph Waldo Emerson

So yesterday I got told: “why do you always have to be different, why do you always have to think outside the box rather than just be in it”.  Simply because I was trying to find an alternative route to obtaining what I wanted an that really jarred me if I’m honest especially coming from the individual that it did.

I’ve never really been one to fit in.  I enjoy the things most may not and I’m mesmerized by the beauty in things different, quirky and unique.  From the clothes I wear to the way in which I creatively decorate my home I’m always trying to find ways to inject my personality into everything I do to show the world who I am.

I never want to merely blend into the background by being like everyone else I’d much rather stand out by being myself as there’s no point me striving to be something I’m not.  I firmly believe there is no point suppressing yourself to make others feel comfortable to a certain degree.  What people fail to realise is that it’s not your problem, it’s there’s.  An it’s time that you celebrate the real you and embrace and love the little things that make you- YOU!

Leave a Reply

