Not another boy!

Last week I found out that I was having a boy.

I had initially anticipated waiting until the birth to find out the sex of my second child to give myself something to look forward to. But having gone to a previous scan and glimpsing what seemed to be the male anatomy. I resorted to seek confirmation during my 20 week anomaly scan. An yes it was another boy!

Say it ain’t so

For the most part since finding out the sex of my baby and sharing it with a small amount of my circle of friends and associates I have had comments such as “better luck next time”, “never mind” to even “I feel sorry for you”. This If I’m honest really baffled me. It was perceived as if I should feel bad or unlucky to have to raise yet another son. Poor me, right. Well no.

Having a son so far has been one of the most rewarding and exciting times of my life and I wouldn’t change him for the world.

My seven-year-old son has a great sense of empathy for others and a strong sense of morals and fairness. He is absolutely one of the most loving beings I have come across and feels just as much as girls do and is just as equally sensitive.

Masculinity in the media

Young children I believe are especially vulnerable to the teachings of the media because they don’t have the aptitude essential to differentiate between fantasy and reality or the ability to disregard these images.

With regards to the idea’s of masculinity these images can often leads our sons to become confused about what constitutes as acceptable male behaviour.

What worries me tremendously is how views from others and society try at every turn to tell my son, through what he see’s and hear’s, “…This is how a boy is supposed to be” or “Boys are supposed to be emotionally detached – they don’t show their feelings”.

Therefore as parents it is our duty to allow our boys to be who they are. Encourage them and enable them to grow up to be healthy men. They too need to feel loved and valued. Not forced to live up to the projection of the images we are spoon-fed via the media and from social ideals.

Girls aren’t easier than boys. Nor boys easier than girls to raise. But all children grow up best when their parents aren’t obsessed by stereotypes and characteristics, both good and bad.

I love having a son. Just as much as the next person loves having a daughter 😉

 

Leave a Reply

