Stuck In A Blogging Rut

“Blogging isn’t about publishing as much as you can. It’s about publishing as smart as you can.”
― Jon Morrow

Creating that great post

I’ve come to the realisation that blogging for me personally is quite like having another job. Except to begin with you’re not actually getting paid and aren’t as forcibly committed… Well if you don’t have a full-time job like myself that is. This often leads me to feel bad that I have this job (blogging) besides that of my current employment within the NHS… Shush! Don’t tell anyone. That I enjoy but yet still haven’t exactly been putting in the work for my community of followers that I have. I mean do they even notice? Hmm

Don’t get me wrong I’m not depicting the image of a follower of my blog biting their nails in a frantic state waiting to see a glimmer of a post from me appear on their reader. But the idea of publishing on a daily basis just doesn’t appeal to me simply because I don’t want to put out an endless stream of posts of no value with regurgitated content.

To be quite frank I spend most of my time editing posts so much so that if you saw the total amount of revisions on one of my posts it is rather embarrassing. I honestly believe that I spend more time editing than I do writing a first draft.

Nonetheless, I love writing with a passion but sometimes I find the editing of posts much like that of a Rubik’s cube – trying to get the right fit. That it takes me bloody forever to churn out a post to the point where if for instance I were doing a ‘Daily Prompt’ by the time I’d actually finished my post and saw it fit for publishing the next Prompt would have been published already leaving me playing catch up and feeling somewhat silly to publish it a decade later.

Why do I blog

Q: Why do you blog?

A: ... because I think the world des-perately needs to hear my opinions, and I like to oblige.” 
― Ophelia Benson

Alot of the time I will see my fellow bloggers just churning posts out and I’ll sit there chewing on my pen watching the hours go by wondering what the heck to write and eventually post into the blogging hemisphere. An most of the time when I do feel inspired or something moves or irks me enough to want to blog about it. It is either late at night like now for instance when I should in fact be counting sheep baring in mind I have work in the morning. Or whilst I am on that busy rush hour commute I try so much to avoid. This leads me to the question of whether or not I need to sit down and actually create a blog post schedule in order to help me maintain my focus and productivity.

I’m actually hoping that this will help for the time being rather than to keep chugging along with my current method of madness. But with time hopefully it will enable me to hit some of my personal goals with regards to the direction I want to go in and also the build up of readership to my blog.

Essentially I blog because I like the idea of being able to have my voice published on a platform for others. A place where I can whisk the thoughts and feelings that clutter my mind. But moreover because I love writing. Plain and simple.

🙂

 

Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections

6 thoughts on “Stuck In A Blogging Rut

  1. Pingback: DP: Writing challenge – Writing | The Wandering Poet

  2. Tell me about it..I too happen to be getting inspiration/ideas to write about as i am about to fall asleep or when i am at work. It is always a welcome distraction from the pertinent things i am meant to be doing 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: That Face in the Mirror | Views Splash!

  4. Pingback: writing off the wall | litadoolan

  5. Pingback: Strange Tales of Living Windows, Goggle Soup and… Criminal Penguins? | Ramisa the Authoress

Leave a Reply

