Literate for a Day

“A first child is your own best foot forward, and how you do cheer those little feet as they strike out. You examine every turn of flesh for precocity, and crow it to the world. But the last one: the baby who trails her scent like a flag of surrender through your life when there will be no more coming after–oh, that’ s love by a different name.” ― Barbara Kingsolver, The Poisonwood Bible

“…For one day and one day only will someone or something you wouldn’t necessary be able to communicate with through writing will be able to understand every single word you write today.”

Waving what appeared to be a magic wand over my pen and paper with bright sparks shooting from the tip of the wand the short whimsical character that had appeared out of nowhere suddenly vanished.

Was it my lack of enthusiasm to write having been forced to put my blog on the back-burner due to the birth of my second child or simply my sleep deprived state of mind that strummed up this encounter.

Nonetheless as I stared at the gorgeous unsuspecting baby staring back at me with large almond-shaped brown eyes I immediately put pen to paper and began to write:

To Jarrell,

No one said that becoming a parent would be easy nor would I always get it right. But since your arrival I can’t fully comprehend the amount of love and joy that you have filled my heart with.

You entered your brother and I’s lives at a time when we needed you the most and changed it for the better whilst enabling me to discover an inner strength I never realised I had.

While my decisions were previously driven mostly by my own needs and wants, they now center around that of you and your brother something of which I am fiercely conscious of in any decision-making pertaining our lives .

There is no greater love and bond than what I have with you. To be selfless and devoted to someone so small is one of the most rewarding feelings I have ever experienced. 

Motherhood has certainly changed my perspective and thought processes and encouraged me to be the greatest ME that I can possibly be and I have you to thank for that and no matter what I accomplish in life you will always be one of my greatest achievements.

– Love Mum

In response to: Literate for a Day

Leave a Reply

